Skip to Content

Configuring Step Properties

Common Properties

In this tab you need to specify general information regarding the step. To configure common properties of a task: 1. Fill in the following fields: Step Name — when receiving a task an assignee will see : «Item Title - Step Name». The best practice is to name the step in the verb form («To approve candidate» instead of «Candidate approval»); ... Read More


Task Assignment

In this tab you can make employees responsible for the step by creating a task or several subtasks. You can also pre-populate all task fields with values or set field population rules. To assign a responsible person and pre-populate task fields: 1. Select the «Assign tasks and pre-populate task fields» check box. 2. Click on «Task Settings» to expa... Read More


Pre-Populate Fields

Item fields can be automatically filled in when an item moves to a particular step. You can set an exact value for the field, calculate a field value using the Comindware Expression language, or clear the field value as soon as the item moves to the next step. To pre-populate item fields: 1. Select a field you would like to fill in and click «Set V... Read More


Time-Based Transition

You can configure your workflow item to be automatically moved to the next workflow step. This may be useful in the following situations: if a document needs to be to be commented on by workflow participants. If there are no comments in the specified period of time, a workflow task moves automatically to the next workflow step; to automatically es... Read More


Conditional Transitions

In Comindware Tracker, you can configure transitions that are performed automatically by condition. Creating conditional transitions makes for more advanced automation of your workflow and is performed using the Comindware Expression language. You can create several different conditional transitions for one step. How it works As soon as a task is m... Read More


Custom Notifications

You can set up custom e-mail notifications that the system will generate and send automatically when the workflow moves to a certain step. You can set up e-mail notifications for any Intermediate or End step, but not for Start steps. You can add multiple e-mails for one workflow step. When an automatic e-mail is sent, this is logged in the task his... Read More


Web Service Calls

You can configure one or more web service calls that will be executed when a workflow items moves to the step. This might come in handy if you want to perform some kind of integration upon entering the step (for example, send information about the approved client to the company's CRM system or upload client's contact information from it).... Read More


Mandatory Fields

You can make certain fields mandatory in a workflow task. These fields must be filled in by the task owner before they press the «Next Step» button or save the item. Mandatory fields can be assigned to both steps and transitions. How it works Comindware Tracker checks for mandatory fields each time when a workflow item enters the step, exits the st... Read More


Validation Rules

Validation rules verify that the data a user enters in a workflow task meets the criteria you specify. A validation rule can be applied to one or more task fields in a particular step or transition. Validation rules are created using the Comindware Expression language. Validation rules can be assigned to both steps and transitions. How it works A r... Read More


Field Permissions

By default, you cannot modify auto-filled system fields on a step, while all custom fields created and such system fields as «Title», «Description» and «Due Date» stay editable. If necessary, you can protect the editable fields from being modified by changing field permissions. This may come in handy if the fields contain essential data you don... Read More


Reassignment Rules

You can specify a list of possible assignees to whom the task may be reassigned on the current step. To configure reassignment rules: 1. Select «Select possible assignees» check box. 2. Add or remove users from the «Selected» box using the «Add» («>»), «Add All» («>>»), «Remove» («<»), «Remove All» («<<») buttons. 3. When finished... Read More