Skip to Content

How To Change Task Status

A task can have one of the following task statuses:



Not Accepted

A task in any status which has been assigned to its perspective assignee, but not yet accepted or rejected by them.

Not Started

The default status for a new task that has just been created, or for a task that has been accepted.

In Progress

A task which has already been started, but not yet finished.


A task rejected by its assignee. The task can be reopened, or reassigned.


A task, whose completion is postponed for the future.


A task that has no more work to be done.

To change the task status, select a task and click Start, Defer, or Complete buttons in the Ribbon.